The power of giving was celebrated during Tuesday's Munster Rotary Club Dinner honored Lydia Dershewitz as their 2012 Woman of the Year.

The Rotary Club received 17 nominees and trimmed the list to three finalists, which included Dershewitz, Alice Cannon and Paula Nellans.

"We felt it was imperative to honor our community women that make things happen," said Stephen Scheckel, Munster Rotary president and Munster Police chief. "All of the nominees have such great value to Munster. Lydia is just a wonderful person committed to touching people's lives."

Dershewitz volunteers her time for Hospice of the Calumet Area and feels there is no greater gift than giving.

"To be mentioned in the same breath as Alice Cannon and Paula Nellans is an honor in itself," said Dershewitz. "Honestly, I can only accept this on behalf of the patients and families of Hospice of the Calumet Area. I am truly blessed to be part of this incredible team that have so much compassion and love for what they do."

The Munster Rotary Club's 2012 nominees included Linda Bevil, Helen Brown, Alice Cannon, Pamela Daniels, Lydia Dershewitz, Chris Dow, Frankie Fesko, Danette Garza, Wendy Mis, Carol Moore, Mary Anne Neiner, Paula Nellans, Shirl Pawlowski, Darlene Smith, Julie Stogsdill, Kasie Tenbarge and Carrie Wadas.